Aunt Margie’s Chewy Walnut Squares

My Aunt Margie’s gift, at my bridal shower was tagged with this recipe 17 years ago. When I realized I didn’t have pineapple for my upside down cake on Easter, I searched through my recipe box for something I could do in a relative short period of time, with minimal ingredients. I knew  I had plenty of nuts so I went with this one and said a prayer for my Aunt and Uncle on Easter morning. Many of my close aunts and uncles have passed these last few years.  This  makes baking this and other inherited recipes more important to me now then ever before. As I was preparing the recipe, I am reminded of many fun memories of my family. My Aunt Margie married  my Mom’s brother  Gilbert.  Gilbert was her second husband. Her first husband died and left her a widow with three young children to raise.  My Uncle Gilbert embraced those three children as his if they were his own from day one.

My cousin described their first meeting at my Uncle’s funeral, in his Eulogy. Its a story I had never known. My Uncle just newly arrived from the Azores, went to his new brides home and family immediately  from the airport. It was late in the evening when he entered my cousin’s bedroom, woke him and hugged him and kissed him and said in his only broken English my son, my son, I love you! This meant so much to my young cousin at the age of 12, as he was being teased for not having a father.

My aunt and uncle lived down the street from us.  Aunt Margie and my Uncle Gilbert were a very loving couple that did everything together. Uncle Gilbert spent time in the kitchen where they did a lot of the Portuguese cooking and my Aunt Margie also did the baking as I remember it. My favorite thing he made was his Portuguese Fava Beans, this I’ll have to make and post in a later entry. Margie has also has passed away a couple years ago and so it was a nice reminder of her to make these.

Aunt Margie' Chewy Walnut Bars

The recipe was very easy, just mix all the ingredients, spread in a pan  and bake.

A few basic ingredients including nuts

Dough is hand mixed

Spread into the greased dish

Cooled and ready from the oven

Peter Rabbit Plate

When looking for a serving plate for the finished bars I found my son and daughter’s baby plate. Peter Rabbit was the theme for my son’s nursery, just more reminiscing for me. It kind of made me sad because this was the first Easter in the last 14 years that the jig was up. My eleven year old  daughter made it clear to me she new there was no Santa Claus, Tooth Fairy and Easter bunny!

The Recipe:

1 egg unbeaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 Cup Brown Sugar

1/2 Cup flour

1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda

1/4 Teaspoon Salt

1 Cup Chopped walnuts ( I added pecans)

Grease 8″ square pan, stir in egg, sugar, vanilla together

Quickly stir in flour baking soda and salt. Add walnuts, spread in pan and bake at 350 for 20 minutes, cool in pan, cut into 2″ squares.

Leave a Reply

