My Sister in Law’s Bread Recipe

Feeling like Old Mother Hubbard this week, pretty much out of bread. Its the perfect opportunity to turn to my recipe box. I remembered my sister in law’s recipe for Butter Rich Bread, something easy I can do in my bread machine.

Butter Rich Bread Recipe

My sister in law will serve this at holidays or other family dinners. It’s a nice dense bread with a rich yellow color. I’m not usually one to remember to plan ahead and keep things at room temperature and there is always the risk of two friendly family members getting to items left on counters.  So I needed to warm the refrigerated eggs in hot water for 15 minutes and I microwaved the milk.

Sierra the younger boxer is learning fast from Charlie elder white Boxer

Eggs Warming

Lukewarm Milk

Eggs Beaten

I added the wet ingredients first and then the dry and the machine did the rest. Bread machines are so easy to use and cleanup after. I usually store mine and so out of sight out of mind, but really if I had it set out, I would remember to use it more often.

Breadmachine

Liquids First

Yeast last in small pocket

Risen Bread

Second Rise 30 minutes

I have been using a silicone baking pan I picked up. It works really great and with no fuss.

Enough for two mini loafs

Gorgeous Loaf Baked

The recipe calls for glazing with eggs I chose not to since I was not serving at a dinner and appearance wasn’t important to me. The loaf had to be under guard while cooling! From all family members.

Here is the recipe.

Linda”s Butter Rich Bread

I cup of milk lukewarm

2 large beaten eggs at room temperature

4 cups of Bread Flour

1/2 Cup of Sugar

1 teaspoon salt

2-1/2 teaspoons dry yeast or 1 package

My bread machine would call for ingredients in this order and creating a little pocket for the yeast last.

Run on dough setting,

When done turn on counter, Punch down gently, then cut in half and shape to loaf pans. Let rise covered with a light dish towel about 30 minutes. Bake at 375 for 25-35 minutes, egg glaze optional.

One thought on “My Sister in Law’s Bread Recipe

Leave a Reply

