Baking with Julia, first recipe; White Loaves

Today starts the first recipe , White loaves. The recipe yield is two loaves. Mixing it was a challenge for my Kitchen Aid. It over heated and looked like it was smoking a little bit. I kept it on low and gave it a rest by kneading it for ten minutes. When I added the butter the machine seemed to handle it better. Everything seems to be going as planned the loaves are in the oven. I am so glad I was able to pull this off tonight while managing the gymnastics run, the CCD run and thankfully Piano was canceled.

Where I have experimented is in using a silicone baking pan. I washed it but when I open the oven to check it,  has an unusual odor. I hope the bread doesn’t absorb this. Ten minutes more to bake and I will be posting an image below….

The artificial odor has dissipated and replaced with the warm smell of bread. The bread tastes wonderful and has a nice dense texture with a honey color. I used organic unbleached flour and baked in the oven. I was able to pickup the kids and let it cool while I was out. I didn’t want to take any chances with my pups getting a hold of the bread so I crated Sierra the younger Fawn boxer and Charlie the 3 year old white boxer was quarantined to the basement!

I am having fun. Its very satisfying slow my life down to creatively bake and have results as I hoped for.

3 thoughts on “Baking with Julia, first recipe; White Loaves

  1. It’s so interesting to read about everyone’s KA experiences. Isn’t that why we ponied up for one in the first place – that they are heavy duty and reliable? Mine did a great job and I had it on a 3 or 4 speed most of the time (probably because the manual telling me not to do that is long gone), but I couldn’t leave it alone. I thought it might bounce right off my kitchen counter if I left it alone!

  2. I think I was one of the rare people who didn’t have KA woes – almost makes me wonder what i did wrong 🙂
    Glad you were able to keep the bread safe & I am sure it was enjoyed by all.

Leave a Reply

